Student Awards Night 2015

The CIC Toronto section hosted the annual Student Awards Night (SAN) to promote and recognize student academic achievements.  This year, the SAN was held on November 20that the George Vari Engineering and Computing Centre at Ryerson University. A total of 23 students representing high schools, colleges and universities across the GTA were awarded that night for various achievements in their chemistry-related programs (see below for a list). All awardees also received a free one year membership to the Chemical Institute of Canada (CIC). We thank our sponsors this year, UofT Mississauga and the UofT ChemClub.

The master of ceremony of the night, Dr. Bryan Koivisto from Ryerson University, smoothly facilitated the awards and even added in a dash of humour to keep families and friends in a happier mood.

In addition to the award-giving ceremony, Dr. John Purdy graced the attendees with an informative and eye-opening talk about the “Chemistry of Bees”. The audience learned the huge impact of bees within the food chain.

We would like to thank everyone who participated in this event, as well as all the volunteers and executives who helped organize this event, all the teachers and professors who were able to make it out and recognize these students, as well as our sponsors UofT Mississauga and the UofT ChemClub. Hope to see you next year!


CSC/CSCT Silver Medal Award Winners

Nicolas Zeidan U of T Scarborough
Alexandra Chee U of T Mississauga
David Hrovat U of T Mississauga
Richard Fuku U of T Mississauga
Maotong Xu U of T St. George
Maniranjan Kaur Sra Sheridan College
Oskar Martynyuk Sheridan College
Bahar Ameri Ryerson University
Trevor White Durham College
Kyle Hulse Durham College
Woojin Choi Seneca College


CIC Book Award Winners

Egor Larin  U of T Scarborough
 Neil Hyde  U of T Mississauga
 Kwan Woo  U of T St. George
 Jamie Barbe  Sheridan College
 Scott Kieran  Sheridan College
 Koushan Farshad  Ryerson University
 Brandon Binder  Durham College
 Brandon Roberts  Durham College
 Koji Yoshikawa  Seneca College


High School Award Winners (47th International Chemistry Olympiad in Baku, Azerbaijan)

Silver Medalist

Alexander Cui

Bronze Medalist

Spencer Zhao
Jeff An


20151120-19.55.23 HQ 20151120-19.49.17 HQ